Happy 40th Birthday D&D

While I didn’t get the chance to play this week, this weekend is everyone’s best guess as to the birth of Dungeons and Dragons (the last Sunday of January, though some celebrate it earlier). My current group has been playing for around 3 years now. I have been playing for well over a decade myself, I started in the late 90s with AD&D.

This has caused me to go back and think about how Dungeons and Dragons has affected my life. I started playing in AD&D, but that was just a blurred memory for me; just quick games at my friends’ house. Their parents played and I thought it was the coolest thing ever. When I entered high school, 3rd edition launched. I was starting to earn money, so I saved up and bought my own core books. Before you know it, I was running games at lunch, passing notes in class about game progression, even starting my own message boards to play online.

I know that, without D&D, we likely wouldn’t have a lot of the more popular games that we have today (Elder Scrolls series, Warcraft, Warhammer Fantasy, etc…) Without this game, I wouldn’t be where I’m sitting right now. It lead me into hanging out online, learning freeform roleplaying, cultivating my imagination and writing career. It’s changed my life completely, and I’m extremely thankful for it.

Thanks Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson for such an awesome creation. And, thanks TSR, Inc for giving it a place to grow.

See you guys Monday, with a new Epic Times. Check out the poll below ❤ ~Vexar

Respond Responsibly

